Home > Forums > Critics Coaster Discussion > View Topic
( Moderators: ThmPrkCrtc, BobFunland, adriahna )
Hop Forums:
Page [ 1 of 1 ] [ 1 ]
Author Interesting off-season?
Hercules

1/30/2007 4:53:04 PM
Having not been on the coaster scene for too long in comparison to some I ask the question: Is this an unpresidented off-season? I ask you seasoned vets this. I mean really. Have there been any kind of major rides removals, reprofilings, park closings, park buyouts and everything in between in a season in recent memory? Ever?

--------------------
"I could never design another ride like Hercules." - Curtis Summers

coaster05

1/30/2007 5:34:46 PM
It is definately messed up,I don't know if I should look at this a a positive since parks may be realizing quality over quantity, or just another dagger in the heart of small parks.
larrygator

1/30/2007 5:38:08 PM
I guess I'm a veteran but I don't always pay much attention to the news out there. It certainly seems like there are more major coaster removals and reprofilings. However, the Paramount and SF sale was big and unusual to happen in the same year.

However, there don't seem to be as many big name additions.
CoastrGlxy

2/1/2007 2:00:57 PM
I was thinking the same thing just the other day. That this off-season was jam packed with news and developments. But then I wonder if it seems that way because we can get access to every little update at any park in the world now-a-days. Especially with sites like ThrillNetwork and things like RSS feeds and podcasts. It's great for enthusiasts, but I'm expecting to see headlines like "Cedar Fair Parks Switch Toilet Paper for 2007"....

I'm getting a lot more info these days. I agree with LarryGator. There aren't a lot of huge projects. Outside of Griffon, Maverick, and maybe Mystery Mine I can't name another 'important' coaster opening this year.
----------------------
Check out my site:
Got_it

2/1/2007 2:38:53 PM
Quote:
CoastrGlxy said: