Home > Ohio > Cedar Point > Maverick > Review Comments

 Review of Maverick @ Cedar Point
5 Rating Posted by: fergusonat on 6/18/2007 8:45:00 PM
Ive given Cedar Point crap in the past for its absurdly inflated reputation and collection of overrated rides, and thankfully Maverick broke the mold and delivered a fantastic experience from start to finish.

Where the rest of CPs coasters rely almost entirely on the parks gaudy and misguided reputation to breed popularity, I am fairly certain that Maverick would draw crowds even if it were built in war-torn Iraq and all ride operators wore car-bombs.

Indeed, Maverick is a hell-born Wild West coaster experience that even Clint Eastwood himself would have trouble wrangling. From the initial superb lifthill to the relentless and furious race back to the station, Maverick literally NEVER lets up. A lot of coasters are described to "never let up" but Maverick redefines this figure of speech. For all you woodie-enthusiasts out there --- this is the steel coaster for you. Taking a spin on Maverick is a physical endurance test to say the least...the stengel dives and ruthless twists and turns ferociously toss riders to and fro. The ride is absolute madness. Period.

Now onto the meat of the review:

Ill begin by describing the queue line. It is very well organized and decently themed -- although of course its not exactly the hardest thing in the world to pull off a run-down ambiance The theme music they play really gets you into the wild west sort of mood, however, which I think added a great deal to the experience. Hell, on one of my rides, a good old-fashioned saloon fight broke out in the main queue area, but I wouldnt recommend playing the part to that extent hehe.

Now onto the ride itself. The lifthill as we all know if freakishly fast --- that pretty much goes without saying. In a way it detracts from the rides already diminutive stature in comparison to Millennium Force looming in the distance. But nonetheless, the nice view of Lake Erie and stiff breeze to the top is very much welcomed. But be sure to take a deep breath before that 95 degree drop, because its unlikely youll have a chance for another until the final mag brakes set in...

The train is ripped down this drop in utter demonic fashion. It is truly an outrageous experience -- not quite as jaw-dropping as El Toros famous airtime hill, but still damn good. Just as your shoulders and knees begin to beg for mercy from the ripping gs pulled on the first drop, the train levels out, only to be slung through a couple of dastardly intense ground-hugging banked turns. These turns fling all riders about like rag dolls --- absolute madness. It is then onto one of the highlights of the ride, the main airtime hill. This hill delivers one powerful punch, although the restraints have undoubtedly been plastered to your lap by this point so all you really feel is "upward thrust" like on El Toro. The train then rounds a corner and enters the rides weakest portion: the horseshoe inversion(s). They seem a bit overkill to me...inversions dont really thrill me so much. But whatever, they dont kill the pacing of the ride at all, so I cant really complain. After the two back-to-back corkscrews, its onto the tunnel...

Now among my 6 rides on Maverick, the train never once came to a consistent speed in the tunnel portion. Im not sure if it had to do with the timing of the trains or what, but on each ride the train seemed to either come to an almost complete halt only to be catapulted forward, or it drifted at considerable speed headlong into the launch strip. The latter was my favorite, of course...seemed to maintain the pacing much more effectively and on the best of my rides on Mavvy occurred when this was the case.

Regardless, the launch is a very solid launch and the lights at the end of the strip that turn blue before you plunge into the sunlight are quite spiffy. The sharp left turn leading out of the tunnel is pretty intense, and the trim

Review Comments

ginzo on 6/18/2007 9:24:00 PM said:
Thanks for writing a great review of Maverick. Im looking forward to riding it on Saturday.

Also, cheers for sticking it to the fanboys.
weaver23 on 6/18/2007 9:49:55 PM said:
I do agree that the park is overrated but rating a (what sounds like) a phenomenal ride a 3 is a tad bit extreme, just too piss off those fan boys)...of course I personally despise them too. I would advise too rate it according to your ride experience and not just to piss someone off. But its your call.
millforce on 6/19/2007 3:06:03 AM said:
Sweet Review! Im not mad!
hrrytraver on 6/19/2007 8:33:36 AM said:
feru- while anyone can see that you write deep analyses of great coasters, i have noticed that you are being tempted to the dark side. to become a jedi, you must release your hatred of fanboys...
thare on 6/19/2007 9:55:19 AM said:
What would you of given it?
millforce on 6/19/2007 10:53:28 AM said:
^^its his #2 ride, you figure it out hahaha^^
Hercules on 6/19/2007 12:20:46 PM said:
ferg - Thanks for being just as immature about things as the CP fanboys.
thare on 6/19/2007 1:09:35 PM said:
ferg- I agree about the fanboys. Thanks for making them mad!
cpfan0446 on 6/19/2007 4:25:21 PM said:
Very nice review, thanks for spending time to write a detailed review about this great coaster! even the beginning was right, i do believe some of their coasters are ovverrated. You probably succeeded making the fanboys mad but you did just bump one of your favorite coasters from having a 9 to an 8, but its up to you. Nice review
fergusonat on 6/19/2007 7:35:53 PM said:
I do not see this act as being "immature" in the least. Maverick is a fantastic ride whether it has a 10, 9, 8, or -3 on this website. I just wanted to make a point that I couldnt care less what the numbers are. All I ask for are well thought out reviews...and so far other reviews seeking only to "pull down ratings" of great rides have been anything but well thought out!

Everyone should calm down...Ill probably change the rating eventually anyways. I just wanted to make a point CP fanboys need to all take chill pills and just realize that numbers dont always matter. Hell...Maverick proves this standing at a mere 105 feet!

And thanks millforce for taking it the correct way (as a joke), unlike the douche who retaliated with a less-than-intelligent review of El Toro with suspiciously the same rating that I gave Maverick
Hercules on 6/19/2007 8:40:19 PM said:
El Toro sucks
fergusonat on 6/19/2007 9:25:19 PM said:
embalmer on 6/19/2007 9:42:50 PM said:
Good review Ferg, i wish it was open when i was there May 19th. I will be returning soon to ride it.
BobFunland on 6/19/2007 10:32:54 PM said:
I think you should give this ride a fair rating. Your number 2 coaster doesnt get a 3, you know that, I know that. If you dont wanna give it a 10, then thats fine, but at least something decent. Vengeful reviews, as funny as it was, isnt much better than the crappy El Toro review I just deleted. However, since I have seen the photos of you up there, I know you at least rode it and are free to rate as you please, but I really do hope you change it eventually to reflect your true feelings for the ride.
fergusonat on 6/20/2007 12:51:03 AM said:
Haha, you guys take things a wee bit too seriously if you ask me. "Vengeful" is a strong word, especially when stamped onto a joke
weaver23 on 6/20/2007 7:52:36 AM said:
Oh good you changed the rating thank you.
fergusonat on 6/20/2007 3:16:59 PM said:
Like I said, I just did it for the initial reaction...I was planning on changing it from the beginning
millforce on 6/20/2007 5:11:50 PM said:
Ferg rules!!!!!!!!!
coasterf42 on 6/20/2007 7:33:52 PM said:
Well, I read this review for the first time right now, so I dint know about the whole "3" debacle until I read the last three sentences. Personally, it is one of my favorite reviews on the site. Out of the 6 reviews for Mav. so far, only 3 are really readable, and yours is deffinitely the best. The weird thing is, I think you are becoming an Intamin fanboy just as much as I am starting to become a B&M fanboy.
fergusonat on 6/20/2007 8:27:57 PM said:
While I think I am far from an Intamin fanboy, you just cant deny that the company is currently releasing the most intense coasters on the market But thanks for the nice compliment!
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics