Home > New Jersey > Six Flags Great Adventure > Viper > Review Comments


 Review of Viper @ Six Flags Great Adventure
-1 Rating Posted by: methos on 1/15/2005 8:24:00 AM
please put a good coaster in this ones spot togo harnesses are uncomfortible and the ride is just a short boaring layout.
 

Review Comments

larrygator on 1/15/2005 3:44:23 PM said:
I dont see what type of coaster they can put in this footprint outside of a Wild Mouse.
mrceagle on 1/15/2005 6:02:16 PM said:
A custom coaster could fit. Ther is acually some land in back of this sectin that could be used.
Cyclonic on 1/16/2005 11:21:34 AM said:
Some space, but not much. Rolling Thunder spreads out behind the ride, there is a creek there, and Jackson Township has been very particular about tree removal, which is why the last few coasters have been in the parking lot.


The ride is short, and painful, but it is anything but boring.

Hercules on 1/16/2005 10:00:38 PM said:
It is short, and on a scale of 1 to 10 on the boring meter... I would have to give it a 5. Just simply the worst ride in the world.

I always just thought that they made such get use of the parking lots because it was cheaper than excavating. I guess you learn something new every day.
mrceagle on 1/18/2005 1:23:30 PM said:
If teh town has been bugign them about tree removal then they need to add trees to the park. there are some open areas around Nitro by the hamer head and the Helix that they coudl plant some trees. Madusas ground could be added with some trees. the more trees they add around the park like the Midway/bordwalk area and the ones I mentioned. they woudl be more likly to remove trees that already exist. they can also be stricter about there dead/diseased tree removal in the areas needed.
Hercules on 1/18/2005 1:58:49 PM said:
I dont think that that is the problem. I think that the township has a problem with Six Flags excavating the natural surroundings of the park. They dont want to tamper with the nature that is left around the area (outside of the park and the stuff they have built around). They also did a good job of not messing up the wetland area around Nitro. The ground around there is kind of boring in a sense that they dont have any themeing and such around, but they did not kill off anything and did a good job of preserving would was around there. That is a thumbs up to Great Adventure there. But anyway, I dont think just planting in some trees would fix the matter. They just dont want it to happen, as if a massive amusement park didnt do enough damage to the ground and area already.
mrceagle on 1/21/2005 12:52:49 PM said:
This land in in the middle of the park. So what would the town ship be praserving. everything tha would live there isnt/ if it was by the water I could understand but its not.
Cyclonic on 1/24/2005 9:03:29 PM said:
The answer is simple, it is in New Jersey.
Horizons12 on 1/25/2005 12:00:15 AM said:
Ill just say that I like Viper, despite the punishment it dishes out. It has a nice drop and two great inversions. But I think they need to get that extra track out of the warehouse their storing it in and assemble it the way it was planned! Stupid Six Flags.
mrceagle on 1/25/2005 12:38:13 PM said:
I had heard somthign about it beign shortand. is this what you are talkign about? if it is idead shorter then designed yes it woudl cause it to be varry rough.
Hercules on 1/25/2005 2:13:47 PM said:
Yeah. There is this rumor that Great Adventure shorted the ride so that they could have it opened up on schedule. Apparently they have the excess track and parts in storage and were planning to add it at some point in time, but they just havent done it yet I guess. I personally dont believe the story, but maybe it is true, just because it sounds like something that they would do. Yet, I dont see how they could have completed the track like that if the design was no like it. I think it was a good 800 feet of track that they supposedly left out.
coaster05 on 1/26/2005 8:07:26 AM said:
I believe that story because the way you bang on some curves it definately feels like there should be some staight track before you hit the corner.
Hercules on 1/26/2005 12:40:16 PM said:
I dont know what to believe. On one hand, it is Six Flags that we are talking about here. That was a big coaster back in the day that it was being introduced. It was a fairly big investment (Im not sure exactly how much it cost to build the coaster money wise, but, the amount of advertising and hype that they put on it before it opened not only cost money but backed them in so deep that they had to open it when they said that they would). The cost is not necessarily money, but, also their reputation. They had to get the product out there in time. However, it probably would have been more beneficial to them to just say "Hey, we are not quite done yet, so, give it a couple more months. Thanks." But, of course, this is Six Flags. They had to bust it out. Now, they have a waste of space sitting there, literally. The coaster was not even in operation in 2001. It is broken down frequently and is never open when the park opens (but there are a lot of rides like that there). Maybe they should consider finishing it, but that is probably out of the question now indefinately. Im usually against this, but, just knock the piece of crap down.
mrceagle on 1/28/2005 12:21:43 PM said:
Lok at Canyon Blaster at Great Escape. They shortened that jsut to fit it into the land they wanted it in. rather then figurign out a way to fit it.
Horizons12 on 2/8/2005 11:45:49 PM said:
And look at Vekoma Boomerangs, they were supposed to be big coasters but then Vekoma was like "hey, lets just make it 3 continuous inversions and sell it for the same amount of money." And what do you know, those things multiplied like rabbits! Ok, maybe thats not a true story...lol. ALSO, in regards to methos review, I think the TOGO harnesses are great, they just need more padding.
jdale on 10/27/2005 5:25:25 PM said:
Hercules on 10/27/2005 5:29:59 PM said:
Dude, not only do you post a lot of stuff, you post the same thing over and over. We know that is happening. Hell, some of these people dont even come around anymore. You are just saying the same thing to the same people.
jdale on 10/28/2005 3:52:22 PM said:
Got_it on 8/6/2007 12:58:51 AM said:
I know this is an old review, but I think it is funny how the last thing any of us ever thought would go in that spot, would be a coaster like El Toro.
coasterf42 on 5/16/2008 1:21:03 PM said:
Looks like methos got his wish. This conversation is pretty funny now.
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

 
Clicky Web Analytics