Home > Ohio > Cedar Point > WildCat > Review Comments

 Review of WildCat @ Cedar Point
0 Rating Posted by: BobFunland on 8/14/2007 1:27:00 PM
This is a very fun ride as it packs together some quick drops, moderate [but nice] forces, and lateral-heavy helices into a tiny footprint. A great little ride, and dare I said, probably the 3rd best at the Point.

Review Comments

tauren_man on 9/2/2007 11:26:31 PM said:
3rd best? I dont think so. I didnt really "hate" this ride, but Millenium, Magnum, Maverick, and Gemini are just better rides. Theyre designed much better.
BobFunland on 9/3/2007 7:59:34 AM said:
Millennium Force is a pretty lame example of a hyper coaster, and Magnum just plain sucks. Typical Toomer coat hanger action there. Overall Id still prefer Millennium over everything else in the park but certainly not Magnum -- I missed out on Maverick but figured there is a good chance it is in the top 3 in the park.
coaster05 on 9/3/2007 9:42:49 AM said:
Although I dont feel this way for Wildcat, I currently have Maxair as my third favorite ride in the park, due to the averageness of so many CP coasters, so I can understand your feelings BFL.
ginzo on 9/3/2007 9:53:08 AM said:
I prefer Wildcat over everything at CP, except for Maverick. I missed Maverick yesterday at CP because the crowds were AWFUL. As much as I love Maverick, there is no way Im getting into a line thats spilled onto the midway for at least 100 yards. Thank you to CP for lying on the web site about Labor Day weekend not being a busy time.
coaster05 on 9/3/2007 12:35:25 PM said:
MIA was the same way yesterday so maybe people just wanted out for the weekend. Course if you post on the website that it is not busy what did they expect would happen.
ginzo on 9/3/2007 1:40:31 PM said:
Yeah, I dont think that most patrons dug that deeply into the site. CP just used a little bit deceptive phrasing, which I decyphered later with closer attention. Basically they said that Labor Day weekend isnt peak time. So, if their peak days bring 3-4 hour waits, then 2 hour waits arent peak. Thats my guess, anyway.
BobFunland on 9/3/2007 6:53:04 PM said:
I know what you mean about the line stretching waaay out of the queue, thats why I didnt ride. Labor Day is generally pretty dead at parks though - maybe the weather was exceptionally nice?
tauren_man on 9/3/2007 8:19:01 PM said:
Ok, first of all, Millenium Force is not a hypercoaster. Hypercoasters are incapable of such speeds and track elements. second of all, even if you dont like Magnum and Millenium more than Wildcat, you must admit that they are designed in such a better way. You get an excellent view from both, and the travel around parts of the park. But Wildcat... just sort of stays in a little ball in the corner of the park. This ones more of just a filler coaster to me.
ginzo on 9/3/2007 9:06:59 PM said:
Apparently you dont know BFL very well if you think youre going to get him to dis a Schwarzkopf in favor of a Ron Toomer coat hanger coaster. The same goes for me. I prefer Wildcat over everything there except Maverick.
tauren_man on 9/6/2007 3:11:01 PM said:
Ok... look at where Millenium force is rated (#2). Now look at where this is rated (#18 ). The only advantage that this one has in my opinion is the line length. But its not scary at all, nor is it well designed. It may be fun, but definitely not the hard-core coaster experience I look for in a ride.
ginzo on 9/6/2007 3:54:01 PM said:
Although I have no idea what poll youre going by, the only rankings that matter to me are my own. I furthermore have no idea what metric youre using to claim that Wildcat is not well designed, but I certainly strongly disagree. Wildcat packs quite a lot into a very small footprint. In fact, I think it has about as much thrills as are possible using that amount of real estate.

As for Millennium Force (note the second n), Im not that impressed with it. To me its almost as if the 300 ft. lift hill killed the budget for the project, and they couldnt afford any more elements. Where is the airtime? Where are the forces? Even the big first drop is engineered to really smooth out the experience so as to not challenge the rider too much. Ive been to CP three times this year, and only bothered to ride MF on one of those trips.
Post Review Comment
You must login or create an account to post a review comment.

Clicky Web Analytics